How to Stop the iPhone Camera from Always Going Back to Photo

The steps in this article are going to show you how to change a setting on your iPhone camera so that it remembers the last mode that you were using (Time-lapse, Slo-mo, Video, etc.) rather than always reverting to Photo.

  1. Open the Settings app.
  2. Scroll down and choose Camera.
  3. Select Preserve Settings.
  4. Tap the button to the right of Camera Mode to turn it on.

The Camera app on your iPhone provides you with the ability to record many different types of media. The options available include Time-lapse, Slo-mo, Video, Photo, Portrait, Square, and Pano.

But you may have noticed that, despite whichever mode you were using last, the Camera app always goes back to the Photo option. If you find this to be annoying, it is something that you can change. Our guide below will show you where to find that option so that you can stop your iPhone Camera from always switching to the Photo mode.

How to Preserve the Camera Mode on the iPhone Camera

The steps in this article were performed on an iPhone 7 Plus in iOS 12.3.1. By completing the steps in this guide you will be changing a setting on your camera so that the camera mode always stays on the last option that you were using.

Step 1: Open the Settings app.

open the Settings app

Step 2: Scroll down and select the Camera option.

open iPhone Camera settings

Step 3: Touch the Preserve Settings button at the top of the screen.

open the Preserve Settings menu

Step 4: Tap the button to the right of Camera Mode to turn it on. Note that there will be green shading around the button when the cameras mode is being preserved.

select the Camera Mode option

You may notice that there is a Live Photo option on this menu as well. You can enable that if you would like your iPhone’s camera to stop opening with the Live Photo setting enabled.

Once the option to remember the Live Photo setting is enabled, simply open the Camera app and tap the Live Photo option at the top of the screen to turn it off.

how to disable Live Photo on an iPhone

Now Live Photo will be disabled on your iPhone camera until you choose to turn it back on.

Do you upload a lot of videos to YouTube from your iPhone, but you wish they were a higher resolution? Find out how to enable HD upload to YouTube and start adding clearer videos to your channel.