How to Unfriend Someone in Pokemon Go

The friendship feature in Pokemon Go allows you to get bonuses, as well as send and receive gifts with other players. It can be a very beneficial activity in the game as it improves many of the things you do. But you may want to know how to unfriend someone in Pokemon Go if you no longer wish to interact with them.

Pokemon Go friendship allows you to utilize the gifts that you receive from Pokestops, trade and battle with other players, as well as get damage boosts in raids when you reach higher levels of friendship.

But some people will inevitably stop playing the game, or you may discover that you simply have too many friends in the game and need to remove some friends that are no longer active.

Fortunately there is a way remove a friend in Pokemon Go and eliminate them from your list of friends.

How to Unfriend Someone in Pokemon Go

  1. Open Pokemon Go.
  2. Tap your trainer icon.
  3. Choose the Friends tab.
  4. Select the friend.
  5. Tap the Remove Friend button.
  6. Confirm their removal.

Our article continues below with additional information on unfriending people in Pokemon Go, including pictures of these steps.

How to Remove a Friend in Pokemon Go (Guide with Pictures)

The steps in this article were performed on an iPhone 11 in iOS 14.3. I am using the most current version of the Pokemon Go app that was available when this article was written.

Step 1: Open the Pokemon Go app.

open Pokemon Go

Step 2: Touch the trainer icon at the bottom-left corner of the screen.

tap the trainer icon

Step 3: Select the Friends tab at the top of the screen.

choose the Friends tab

Step 4: Choose the friend that you would like to unfriend.

Step 5: Scroll to the bottom of the screen and tap the Remove Friend button.

tap the Remvoe Friend button

Step 6: Touch Yes to confirm that you wish to remove the friend.

how to unfriend someone in Pokemon Go

Note that this will also remove an existing friendship with this player in other Niantic games as well.

You can always add the friend back later if you have done this by mistake, or if you change your mind. Existing friendship progress will remain if they are added back in the future.

Additional Reading